Specialist fees inside a maternity package
The published package is often the hospital's half of the bill. Across 16 of 54verified hospitals with known fee terms, obstetrician (O&G) fees are included at 8 and separate at 6; the rest are silent. Treat “Not stated” as unknown, not included — those three specialist lines are where budgets break.

What we can show
- Verified hospitals
- 54
- Fee terms known
- 16
- O&G included
- 8
- O&G separate
- 6
38 of 54 verified hospitals still do not state whether specialist fees are inside the package. We leave those blank rather than guess. Across the hospitals we checked, we carry 76 private hospitals in total.
Inclusion table
Each cell is read from that hospital's own official package terms. Included means the fee sits inside the published package. Separate means it is charged on top. Not statedmeans that hospital's page is silent on that specialist. Silence is common: many package pages list room nights and delivery suite items in detail, then never mention the three doctors who will appear on the bill.
We only show hospitals where at least one of the three specialist fields is known. Hospitals that are silent on all three stay out of this table rather than filling cells with guesses. That is why the “Fee terms known” count above is lower than the verified hospital count.
| Hospital | Obstetrician | Anaesthetist | Paediatrician |
|---|---|---|---|
| Andorra Women and Children Hospital | Not stated | Not stated | Separate |
| Assunta Hospital | Included | Not stated | Included |
| Columbia Asia Bukit Rimau | Separate | Separate | Separate |
| Columbia Asia Cheras | Separate | Separate | Separate |
| Columbia Asia Hospital Iskandar Puteri | Included | Included | Included |
| Columbia Asia Hospital Seremban | Included | Included | Included |
| Columbia Asia Klang | Included | Included | Included |
| Columbia Asia Petaling Jaya | Separate | Separate | Separate |
| Gleneagles Hospital Kuala Lumpur | Separate | Separate | Separate |
| Hospital Pakar Al-Islam | Included | Not stated | Included |
| KPJ Damansara | Included | Included | Included |
| KPJ Sentosa KL Specialist Hospital | Not stated | Not stated | Included |
| Penang Adventist Hospital | Included | Not stated | Included |
| Subang Jaya Medical Centre | Separate | Separate | Separate |
| Sunway Medical Centre Penang | Included | Separate | Included |
| Sunway Medical Centre Velocity | Separate | Separate | Separate |
How to read this
A package that includes the obstetrician is not automatically cheaper than one that does not. The hospital half and the doctor half are different products. What matters for a budget is knowing which half you are looking at. If a cell says “Separate”, ask the hospital for that specialist's fee before you treat the package price as the bill. If a cell says “Not stated”, treat it as a question you still need to ask, not as a free specialist. Getting a ringgit figure for each Separate cell is often more useful than shopping another package that is also silent on doctors.
The three columns are not interchangeable. Including the obstetrician while leaving the anaesthetist and paediatrician outside is common on elective caesarean packages. A normal delivery package that looks complete can still leave the paediatrician's newborn examination as a separate line. Compare columns, not only the obstetrician row.
Percentage-discount packages often discount hospital charges only. Doctor fees can sit entirely outside the percentage. See fixed package price or percentage discount.
Hospital half versus doctor half of the bill
Think of the private maternity bill as two ledgers that settle on the same discharge statement. The hospital ledger is room, nursing, delivery suite and the nights the package states. The doctor ledger is professional fees. Marketing pages often quote only the first ledger, which is why a “package from” figure can understate what you pay even when nothing voids. Comparing two packages without checking the doctor ledger is comparing half-bills.
Self-pay versus guarantee letter (GL) can change which ledger your insurer settles. A GL that covers hospital charges may still leave specialist fees as patient co-pay, or the reverse, depending on the panel letter. Confirm both ledgers with the hospital and your insurer; see insurance, guarantee letter (GL) and maternity packages. Deposit timing is separate again: you may pay a booking deposit against the hospital ledger months before anyone quotes the doctor fees in writing.
Epidural sits on the border between the two ledgers. Some hospitals print it as a hospital add-on; others leave the anaesthetist fee as a separate specialist line; a few are silent. Inclusion status and the rare printed ringgit figures are in epidural cost on a maternity package. If the anaesthetist column above says Separate and you plan an epidural, budget for both questions, not one. The same logic applies to assisted delivery: vacuum or forceps can add a hospital line, a doctor line, or both, and package pages often leave that blank.
Why “Not stated” is not a bargain
A hospital that is silent on specialist fees can look cheaper than one that prints “Separate” next to the obstetrician. That silence is not a lower price. It is a missing field. Families who budget only the package figure at a silent hospital often meet the doctor ledger for the first time at discharge. Prefer a hospital that answers in writing over one that leaves the column blank, even if the written answer is Separate. Our table exists so you can see which hospitals already answered, and which still owe you a reply.
Ward rounds and fees we do not yet track
Competitor guides also warn about ward-round charges and pre- or post-admission visits. We do not yet have a verified field for those, so they are absent from the table, not because they are free. A daily ward round by the obstetrician can sit outside the delivery fee even when the O&G column above says Included. Antenatal visits after booking, and postnatal follow-up after discharge, are another common gap between package marketing and the final statement. Some hospitals bundle a fixed number of antenatal visits into the package; others charge clinic fees at the usual rate after you register.
Ask the hospital in writing: are ward rounds billed separately from the delivery fee; are antenatal visits after package registration charged; is the first postnatal clinic visit included? Until those answers are on paper, leave a buffer in the budget rather than inventing a ringgit figure we cannot verify. If the hospital emails a fee schedule, keep it with the package terms so discharge disputes have a paper trail.
Specialist fees also sit beside the terms that can void the whole package or reprice it. Emergency caesarean, office-hours locks and assisted delivery are in what voids a maternity package. For which hospitals lock the package to office hours, see office hours and maternity package prices. Package night counts, and extra nights outside the doctor fee question, are in how long a maternity package stay covers.
Common questions
- Are specialist fees usually inside a maternity package?
- Often no. Across the 16 hospitals where we have a definite answer, many mark the obstetrician, anaesthetist or paediatrician as separate. Treat "Not stated" as unknown, not included.
- Does a percentage discount cover doctor fees?
- Usually not. Many discounts apply to hospital charges only. Confirm with the hospital whether O&G, anaesthetist and paediatrician fees are discounted.
- Are ward-round charges included in the obstetrician fee?
- We do not yet have a verified field for ward rounds. Some hospitals bill daily ward visits separately from the delivery fee. Ask in writing whether ward rounds, antenatal visits outside the package, and postnatal follow-up are billed on top.
- Does the epidural add-on include the anaesthetist?
- Not always. A printed epidural line may cover the procedure only, with the anaesthetist fee separate, or both may sit outside the package. Check the hospital's epidural terms and the anaesthetist column in the table above.
Questions to send the hospital in writing
- Is the obstetrician fee inside the published package price for normal delivery and for caesarean?
- Same question for anaesthetist and paediatrician.
- Are ward rounds billed separately from the delivery fee?
- Does a percentage discount (if any) apply to doctor fees, or only hospital charges?
- If I need an epidural, is the anaesthetist fee already in the epidural add-on, or separate?