Epidural cost on a maternity package
Epidural is one of the most searched add-ons on a private maternity bill — and one of the least published. Of 106 verified hospitals, only 22 give a definite inclusion answer or a printed epidural price (3 print a ringgit figure). Silence is not “epidural free”.

What we can verify
- Verified
- 106
- Terms known
- 22
- Publish RM
- 3
- Silent
- 84
Among hospitals with a definite inclusion label: included 1, separate 18, caesarean only 1. We do not invent a national average price. Aggregator ranges on other sites are not our verified rows.
Inclusion status
This table lists only hospitals where the package materials give a clear epidural answer, a printed add-on price, or both. Blank cells mean the hospital did not state that field — not that the charge is zero.
| Hospital | In package? | Published add-on |
|---|---|---|
| Andorra Women and Children Hospital | Separate | - |
| Assunta Hospital | Separate | - |
| Aurelius Hospital Negeri Sembilan (Nilai) | Separate | - |
| Aurelius Hospital Pahang | Separate | - |
| Columbia Asia Hospital Iskandar Puteri | Separate | - |
| Columbia Asia Hospital Seremban | Separate | - |
| Columbia Asia Hospital Taiping | Separate | - |
| Columbia Asia Klang | Caesarean only | - |
| Hospital Pakar Al-Islam | Separate | - |
| Hospital Pakar An-Nur | Not stated | - |
| KMI Kuala Terengganu Medical Centre | Separate | - |
| KMI Taman Desa Medical Centre | Separate | - |
| KPJ Damansara | Separate | - |
| KPJ Kajang | Separate | RM2,000 |
| KPJ Sentosa KL Specialist Hospital | Separate | - |
| Loh Guan Lye Specialists Centre | Separate | - |
| Penang Adventist Hospital | Separate | - |
| Putra Medical Centre Alor Setar | Separate | - |
| SALAM Shah Alam Specialist Hospital | Separate | RM1,300 |
| Sunway Medical Centre Damansara | Included | - |
| Sunway Medical Centre Penang | Separate | RM1,500 |
| Taiping Medical Centre | Not stated | - |
Published epidural prices
Only 3 verified hospitals print an epidural ringgit figure on the package materials we checked: KPJ Kajang (RM2,000), SALAM Shah Alam Specialist Hospital (RM1,300) and Sunway Medical Centre Penang (RM1,500). Those figures are hospital-printed add-ons, not a market survey.
Anaesthetist fees for caesarean or labour analgesia can sit beside epidural as a separate line. See specialist fees inside a maternity package.
How to budget when the page is silent
If the package page does not mention epidural, ask three written questions: is labour epidural available, what is the add-on price, and does that figure include the anaesthetist. Do not copy a range from a third-party blog into your spreadsheet — those ranges are not our verified rows and often mix hospitals we have not checked.
Epidural also interacts with payment type. A self-pay package price may not apply under a guarantee letter, and an insurer may treat analgesia as a separate benefit. See insurance, guarantee letter (GL) and maternity packages.
What this page is not
This is a package-billing page for private hospitals. It is not clinical advice on whether to take an epidural, how labour feels, or how to manage pain. Those questions belong with your obstetrician — not with a price comparison site.
Epidural exclusions often travel with emergency caesarean and office-hours locks. Read what voids a maternity package and office hours and maternity package prices.
Common questions
- Is epidural usually included in a maternity package?
- Usually no. Most package pages that mention epidural list it as separate or “pain relief not included”. A few include it for elective caesarean only. Treat a blank package page as unknown, not free.
- Does the epidural price include the anaesthetist?
- Sometimes the published add-on is a single line; sometimes anaesthetist fees are separate. Ask the hospital what the printed epidural figure covers before you budget.